Annapolis Watercolor Club

Promoting the Art of Watercolor Painting for Over 40 Years

Log in

Upcoming events

    • Mon, August 29, 2022
    • Sat, October 15, 2022
    • Wimsey Cove Gallery 209 Chinquapin Round Road, #101 Annapolis MD 21401
    Register

    An exhibit of paintings by members of the Annapolis Watercolor Club


    At the Wimsey Cove Gallery

    August 29 to October 15, 2022

    Reception Sunday, September 18, 1:00 to 3:00

     

    GALLERY LOCATION AND HOURS:

    209 Chinquapin Round Road, #101 

    Annapolis MD 21401

    Monday to Friday 10:00 to 6:00, Saturday 10:00 to 4:00

    410-956-7278, https://www.marylandframing.com/

     

    ENTRY INSTRUCTIONS:

    Entry fee: $15.00 per artist

    Commission on sales 25%. All works must be for sale.

     

    Entries will be accepted from Annapolis Watercolor Club members.


    Two framed original watercolor paintings per artist, with three matted pieces per artist for the bins  (either original watercolors or giclĂ©e reproductions of watercolors, protected in plastic).

     

    It would be very helpful, but not required, if artists would include jpegs of one or more of their entries for possible inclusion on the the website and for possible use in publicity. 

     

    This is an All-Members exhibit with no juror.  Please review the exhibit standards here.

     

    TIMELINE:

     August 10 (Wednesday) - All entries and fees must be entered on the AWC website. 

     August 27 (Saturday), 2:00 to 4:00 - Delivery of entries to: 209 Chinquapin Round Road, #101 (turn on Virginia Ave and park behind the building)

     September 18 (Sunday), 1:00 to 3:00 - Reception

     October 17 (Monday), 10:00 to 12:00 - Pick up all unsold entries


     https://www.marylandframing.com/
    • Wed, September 14, 2022
    • 6:30 PM - 8:30 PM
    • On-line (Zoom)

    Demonstrator:   Matthew Bird

    Matthew Bird is an American painter.  Born in Maryland, he graduated with honors from the Pratt Institute of Art in Brooklyn, New York, in 2000.  He is a signature Member of numerous organizations, including the National Watercolor Society where he served as vice president, and his award-winning watercolor paintings have been exhibited in juried shows across the United States, as well as in  Canada, China, Greece, Hong Kong, and Italy.  His work is in permanent museum collections as well as numerous private collections.  

     For 15 years he worked as a designer and art director in advertising agencies, specializing in non-profit fundraising.   As an illustrator, he has five children's books published and his paintings have been used as greeting cards for the Smithsonian Institution, National Geographic, the National Audubon Society, and the National Wildlife Federation, among others.  

     Matthew focuses on developing his craft to capture the beauty of what surrounds him with precision and clarity; and strives to convey that to all people through the universal language of representational art.  It is his desire that when others see his work they may be inspired by the perceptible signs of the real Creator. 

     6:30 - 7 pm:  Members' Painting Salon

     Remember to send in your recent artwork to Andrea Naft. Note TITLE and SIZE. Back story about painting to share is appreciated.

    If you want to ask for opinions, the members can leave their critiques in the chat room, which will be recorded and emailed to the artists who participated in the Art Salon.

    7:00 - 7:15 pm:  President, Juanita Green, gives club updates

    7:15 - 8:30 pm:  Demonstration



Past events

Wed, June 08, 2022 June Members' Meeting
Thu, May 19, 2022 Ellicott City Plein Air
Wed, May 11, 2022 May Members' Meeting
Wed, April 13, 2022 April Members' Meeting
Wed, March 30, 2022 Exhibition at Quiet Waters Park
Fri, March 11, 2022 2 Day Workshop with DALE POPOVICH
Wed, March 09, 2022 March Members' Meeting
Thu, March 03, 2022 2 Day Workshop with MICHAEL HOLTER
Thu, February 10, 2022 Workshop with Kathleen Lanzoni
Wed, February 09, 2022 February Members' Meeting
Wed, January 12, 2022 January Members' Meeting
Wed, December 08, 2021 December Members' Meeting
Mon, November 15, 2021 Removing the Fear of Painting With Watercolor
Wed, November 10, 2021 November Members' Meeting
Wed, October 13, 2021 October Members' Meeting
Sat, October 09, 2021 Ginger Cove Exhibition Through December 2
Fri, October 01, 2021 MC3 Exhibition Reception
Thu, September 09, 2021 Outside the Paintbox Juried Exhibition Through October 28
Wed, September 08, 2021 September Members' Meeting
Wed, May 12, 2021 Sterling Edwards

Address:

P.O. Box 6030

Annapolis, MD  21401

The Annapolis Watercolor Club is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software